The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Ads and the perfect woman !

Message to the Makers of Ads :

I am tired of seeing your horrendously outdated portrayal, no not outdated but I would say erroneous portrayal of women in your ads.There is a whole segment of women out there who are well informed and knowledgeable and who live life with dignity and passion and on their own terms. Women featuring in ads are either college going girls or staid uninteresting doormats or jolly grandmothers. I think the 40 plus  age category is wholly ignored by the ad world or if they are shown, it’s usually as a smiling contented mother figure who is happy with the accomplishments of  her husband or children. Where are the funky, feisty ladies I see in real life?   Here are some of the thoughts which run through my mind when I think of advertising and women…

  • Do not show me women happily washing clothes. Women ( in general) hate  washing clothes and the right washing powder definitely does not bring out the sleeping washerwoman in me !
  • We do tax our brains for decisions relating to more than detergents and cosmetics.
  • I do not come back from a shopping expedition, especially for provisions, looking fresh and peaceful. I’m hassled,tired and irritated and I certainly will not go into raptures thinking about the wonderful soap that I bought.
  • Whatever is cooked has to be eaten by everybody and I will not prepare a different kind of meal for each member of the family. Get real for gods sake ! Moreover I think it’s highly inconsiderate to expect somebody to do that even if  the company has got the right kind of mix for each dish.
  • I am capable of making financial decisions and I know a lot of women who are excellent decision makers. I would love to see an ad where a woman is approached for an insurance policy or for buying a house rather than being relegated to a smiling prop in the background.
  • Can I please see an ad where the man packs the lunch boxes for the family ?  There are a lot of wonderful fathers who do that and a lot more.

C’mon, show me a real woman …….

19 comments on “Ads and the perfect woman !

  1. Blasphemous Aesthete
    July 23, 2013

    Though I am a guy, but I don’t like washing clothes either. 😛

    Advertisements are to sell, do you think they would if they showed the real picture? It’s exaggeration, and yet it is splashed everywhere on the screen and paper.

    Can’t help it. But for a change, do look for that initiative by dove, where women described them and a painter painted there images, and then another woman who had just known her describes her. You’ll see the real woman, and the contrast in how she perceives herself.

    Cheers,
    Blasphemous Aesthete

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 26, 2013

      Good to see you here Aesthete 🙂
      I loved the Dove ad. It’s heartening that agencies are at least taking baby steps towards a more positive portrayal of women. It’s true that reality does not sell unless it’s a scandal or a reality show. My humble submission is that women should be shown taking a more participative role rather than being part of the scenery 🙂

      Like

      • Blasphemous Aesthete
        July 28, 2013

        True that.

        Like

  2. numerounity
    July 22, 2013

    so much agree! besides I do not see a point of having women in ceratin ads ike for eg- cement????

    http://www.numerounity.com

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 22, 2013

      The minds of ad gurus work in distinctly strange ways which is so removed from reality. Thnx for dropping by 🙂

      Like

  3. Aga Arvind
    June 14, 2013

    Yeps Anju,I totally agree with you, but i vividly remember bru- ad where husband gives a foot massage and I admit ,i appreciated it very much ,”secretively”,though even after making bru coffee my husband didnot heed.

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 14, 2013

      Foot massage sounds really good ! I too have a secret, my husband does indulge me once in a while 😉

      Like

  4. chris
    September 11, 2012

    Hey Anju,that’s really great.And on behalf of the advertising fraternity a sincere apology.But the real culprit of your ire is actually the customer or the target audience who is studied in depth for perceptions on every product.The advertisements are usually created using this study.The twist is that most of these ads are created by teams which have a large number of women also.

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 11, 2012

      Thanks Chris 🙂
      However you really can’t put the ball in the customer’s court. You guys should ditch the focus groups and go with your instincts and what you see around you. Your wife is a perfect example of an empowered woman who takes a whole lot of decisions on a lot of issues and is one of the sweetest persons I know 🙂

      Like

      • chris
        September 12, 2012

        September 12, 2012

        With your writing and ideating skills a copywriter’s job awaits you in any advertising agency of your choice.

        Like

      • The Glass Bangle
        September 13, 2012

        Thanks Chris ! 🙂

        Like

  5. Uma
    September 4, 2012

    Now that u say this is when I m actually thinking of it and u r damned right, Anju, my sweets!!! An abs killer of an article………………..

    Like

  6. Latha Philip
    September 3, 2012

    Really true! I wish ad film makers would wake up and see reality!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 3, 2012

      Thanks Latha for dropping in :). Hope we live to see the day when a normal woman is shown in an ad !

      Like

  7. Sreeja
    September 3, 2012

    I LOVED THIS. AM GONNA SHARE ON MY FB. . . SO BLOODY TRUE.

    Like

  8. Rajashree
    September 3, 2012

    Kickass piece! Thumbs and collars up!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 3, 2012

      Thank u Raji ! I’ve been quietly seething for quite some time and now that I have a forum, I let loose 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2012 by in Advertisements, life, women and tagged , , , .
