The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

The Elevator Encounters

Recently I almost killed my Mr.A ! I had entered the elevator and he was right behind me ; unfortunately I was not paying attention and had already pressed the close button due to which he nearly became mashed potato. I shall remain silent on the aftermath, just imagine a combination of an apoplectic, wronged husband, an enclosed space and a quiet repentant me with no means of escape. What annoyed him the most was that this was not the first time I was doing this !

Moving on from this violent scenario, I’ve noticed that elevators sometimes seem to bring out the baser instincts in people.It’s as if common courtesies are not applicable in such small enclosed spaces. One particularly unproductive day, I amused myself by categorising these philistines. First come the Rugby Players, who elbow their way past the people who are waiting patiently to get in.  I was a victim once when I was almost bowled over by a diminutive old lady who fell in this category. They come in all shapes and sizes and looks can often be deceiving, a case in point being my combative senior citizen! Rugby Players are most often seen in crowded places especially malls.

The people in the next category, the Zombies, have selective hearing and vision and they get afflicted once they enter the elevator. There might be some poor soul who’s running like a racehorse and shouting his guts out to get their attention so that he too can get in. Amazingly, the zombies look right through him and make no effort to keep the doors open!

Now come the Icebergs, who remain totally aloof and will not deign to make eye contact in case they have to smile or even worse, talk to the other person.  I have had the misfortune of travelling in elevators with such people. We would have been introduced before but put them in an elevator and watch them freeze.

However the elevator scenario is not that bleak and there are some really wonderful people out there. I have an elevator friend in the building where I stay, an elderly aunty who’s an absolute sweet heart. Each time we meet in the elevator, I make up my mind to go and visit her at home; to date that has not happened and we continue our conversations while going up or down. But through these snatches of conversations we’ve learnt quite a lot about each other. There was a little boy who very chivalrously held the door open and got in after me. When we moved into our apartment, I met a young girl in the elevator who welcomed me warmly to the building. I love to share smiles with total strangers whom I may never see again.

A post on elevators can never be complete unless I mention ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ ! Mc Dreamy has done for elevators what Schindler, Otis and Kone could never do;  made them immensely glamorous and tempting 🙂

4 comments on “The Elevator Encounters

  1. peakperspective
    March 24, 2013

    Okay, now you’ve piqued my interest with Gray’s Anatomy. Netflix, here I come. 😉

    Like

  2. Lakshmy Balasubramanian
    March 16, 2013

    Lovely Anju and very true

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2013 by in Elevator, Home, Humour, Husband, life, women and tagged , , , , , , .
