The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

The World From My Balcony

I’m not an ardent facebook fan nor a rabid facebook hater; I hover benignly somewhere in between these extremes. I quite like the idea of keeping in touch with friends no matter where we are geographically, and fb is ideal due to it’s non-intrusive nature.

I’m often reminded of an Indian street whenever I log onto facebook. It feels as if I’ve just stepped out onto my balcony, with a ringside view of the hustle and bustle in thestreet below. There’re all kinds of people hanging around, passing through, or like me, just watching from their own balconies.

I catch a glimpse of doting grandparents cooing over a newborn and enjoying her antics, with ample advice for the mom thrown in for good measure. They admire the baby, accept greetings from friends and relatives and just can’t seem to move away.

There’s a group of teens(always in groups!) giggling and chattering to the dozen and sharing photographs. With the advent of smart phones, every move and expression is now recorded for posterity. Everybody has an opinion and the comments come hard and fast. I love these youngsters with their crazy language and zest for life.

Suddenly I spot a friend whom I’ve been out of touch with for some time. I call out to her from my perch and catch up on all the news. A mutual friend joins us and all 3 of us have a whale of a time exchanging news, gossip and wacky jokes. We part ways with promises to meet up again and I’m back at my observation post.

My friend is passing around pictures of her recent vacation. I take my own time admiring each frame and leave my comments for her to read at her own leisure. I’m astonished at how quickly time has flown. Now my friend’s children want to be my friends and it seems like yesterday that I was carrying them around.

A guy who wants to be friends accosts me and I quickly give him the cold shoulder. This is my personal turf and I really don’t want to share the ins and outs of my life with strangers. My attention is diverted by the sight of my friend putting up posters of a new venture she’s undertaking. I shall pick up a few notices to share with all my friends in case any of them are interested in it.

Goodness ! Is that the time ? I’ve been out here for much longer than I thought. I’ll just quickly wish a couple of people who are celebrating b’days. Facebook has been a total saviour for somebody like me with a memory like a sieve ! I slowly realize two things, that it’s time for dinner, and that the kids having figured out that I’m not paying attention to them, are having a great time goofing off from studies. Time to get back to reality and return to  ‘Mom’ mode, but I know that  the street and the people are out there and I can join them in a heartbeat….

8 comments on “The World From My Balcony

  1. Aga Arvind
    June 14, 2013

    Anju,am also here:)

    Like

  2. Maya Das
    April 8, 2013

    You’ve given an old world charm to a techie fb. Easy and lovely read Anju.

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      April 9, 2013

      Thanks Maya. I suppose my generation is caught in between the old ways and the new gadgets so we tweak the new to work the old way 🙂

      Like

  3. SUDHA JAGDISH
    April 6, 2013

    you have penned the perfect feelings..really look forward to your blogs..don’t know how,but you manage to capture the essence correctly and are able to express them so beautifully..

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      April 6, 2013

      Thank u for the wonderful words. It feels so good when friends enjoy my posts. Keep dropping in 🙂

      Like

  4. Rajashree
    April 5, 2013

    Your smiling friendly wave whenever I pass this street makes it a lovely walk my dear Anjana. 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      April 6, 2013

      Raji, those amazing updates of yours are one of the highlights of my forays into the street 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2013 by in facebook, Friends, life, Relationsips, Teenager, women, World and tagged , , , , .
