The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

I Was That Girl !

The other day I was looking at some old photographs and I was struck by how different I looked. I would not call it a drastic change but more of a melting around the edges. Friends do console me that my smile remains the same but I wonder whether there’s a slight manic touch to it now ! Marriage and Motherhood, the two factors which enriched my life so greatly and also made me a bit more crazy ๐Ÿ™‚ .

Then there’re those changes which run deeper and are not seen. I have been influenced a lot by my experiences and the people who have passed through my life. So, how much have I changed ? What better way to find out than put myself on the hot seat, or rather put my earlier self and the current me side by side and compare the two. I decided to ask the Twenty-One Year(TOY) old me and the Forty-One Year(FOY) old me ย some questions.

What are your plans for the next 5 yrs?

TOY – I’m going to do my MBA, get a job and then get some work experience. I want to experience life as a single working woman for a few years before getting married.

FOY – 5 yrs ! I don’t know what I’m going to do this weekend. My immediate aim is to ensure that I get as much sleep as possible before school reopens and I get back to waking up at 5.

What’s your idea about the perfect husband?

TOY – (Blush* Blush*) He should understand me totally, be a kind and humorous person, ย like listening to my kind of music, ย get along with my friends, should like coming for long drives, should listen to all my troubles …..

FOY– ย Sigh ! Perfect ? Is there anything like that ?

What do you think about children ?

TOY – Awww ! They are so cute. I want to have twins.

FOY – Children ! Where ? What ? Oops Sorry, nodded off for a minute and thought that it was time to pick them up from their vacation class. To answer the question, I love mine best when they’re asleep ๐Ÿ™‚

What kind of food do you like?

TOY – I love experimenting with food. Italian is my favourite cuisine followed closely by North Indian. I’m just waiting to try out lots of other stuff.

FOY – I love any kind of food as long as I don’t have to cook.

What would you like to tell your mom ?

TOY – Mom, let me get a job. I’m going to pamper you like crazy !

FOY – Mom ! Can I leave the kids there for a few hours ? If ย the answer is yes, can I change the duration from hours to days ??

Who is the most important person in your life?

TOY – My dad !

FOY – Hubby ! ( This was just to ensure marital harmony ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) . The real answer is , My Maid !

Which is your favourite animal ?

TOY – Rabbits. They’re so cute and snuggly !

FOY – Ducks. I love they way they look so serene even when they’re paddling like crazy under the water. Achieving that particular look is my goal, cos the crazy paddling is happening daily.

What’re your favourite activities?

TOY – Reading and shopping

FOY – Reading and sleeping

(In spite of all the changes that have occurred over the years I’m thankful that some things have remained the same!)

Rank the following : Wealth, Health, Happiness

TOY – Happiness, Health, Wealth

FOY – Happiness, Health, Wealth

6 comments on “I Was That Girl !

  1. Broody Moody Mind
    June 8, 2014

    Oh! dear, I could totally relate to this. With minor changes here and there. Everything else remains ditto. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Divya
    January 30, 2014

    Too good…loved it ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  3. Nish
    April 29, 2013

    I like how you put your maid as the most important person. Truthfully, it’s the same for me too ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Family, Food, Food and kids, Friends, Health, Home, Humour, Kids, life, Mother, Relationsips, women, World and tagged , , , , , , , .
