The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

A Doomed Affair !

Me: I still haven’t made up my mind about this relationship

G: C’mon, Gimme a chance !

Me: It’s not you. I’m not sure about myself. I really don’t know whether this will be long term or not.

G : I swear that I’ll not renege on any of my promises ! You’ve got to give me one chance.

Me : Ok, ok ! I agree but I still have my doubts about long term….

This was the conversation I had with my G, or rather my gym before joining πŸ™‚

True to my word, our relationship lasted for all of 6 months ! I had joined with all good intentions of attending regular sessions and persisting with my efforts,come what may. Well, that was a bit like tempting Destiny to wallop me a good one and wallop it did. Due to various reasons, my stint with the gym was short lived and I’ve never entered one again, not out of spite, but my friend Destiny never let me. I’ve dabbled in yoga, aerobics, classical and Latin American dance forms to name a few. Each foray was like entering into a relationship for the first time. Some were carefully considered decisions, taken after weighing the pros and cons, while I impulsively jumped into a few. Unfortunately none withstood the test of time ! There were even some who tried to lure me with breathtaking promises which I successfully scorned since I was not looking for a brief fling. My eyes were on the lookout for the real deal.

My trials and tribulations with weight loss programs (WLP) closely resemble those faced by young lovers everywhere ! The beginning, as in any meaningful relationship, is fraught with excitement and anticipation. My first thought on waking up would be about my latest WLP. I rush through my chores and land up for our session ahead of time, though slightly breathless with all the rushing. Each interaction is drawn out, cos I want to spend maximum time with my WLP. The end of each session is met with a heavy heart and the desire to meet again as soon as possible.

After many a blissful encounter, my natural, indolent Β personality gradually emerges. I do try to smother the damn thing, but it’s made of strong stuff. The earlier enthusiasm gets tinged with a touch of weariness and plain laziness. Out comes the excuses and let me tell you I’m an expert at this. Some days it’s the weather while on other days its the suspicion that I might be having an ache somewhere in the vicinity of my toe,finger,ear or any other non-vital organ(am too scared of Destiny to play around with vital organs!). Then I realise there are a couple of negative traits in my WLP which I hadn’t noticed in the initial euphoria. How could I have missed those signs ? What a dictator he’s turning out to be ! How can my WLP command me to meet him regularly and that too at his convenience. (I completely forget that I had joined up at timings convenient to me too :)). A few missed sessions stretch to long periods of absence which ultimately led to termination of the relationship.

Once I take a decision to stop all contact with my WLP,I start getting doubts whether I’ve done the right thing. Wouldn’t it have been better to just continue and maintain some modicum of a contact instead of ruthlessly putting an end to it ? I endlessly argue with myself until it gets too exhausting. Then I just give up and it’s back to square one and the search for the next one. Sometimes I convince myself that I’ll be better off without a WLP in my life but I always come back full circle to wanting one !

The search is on, to find the right WLP, the one I’m sure will be my salvation. It will complete my life and be with me through thick and thin, through bouts of laziness and bouts of gluttony. I’ll never have to explain my absences or my mood swings. Β The right WLP will hold my hand and lead me down the path of weight loss and happiness πŸ™‚

13 comments on “A Doomed Affair !

  1. Truth and Cake
    July 19, 2013

    “What a dictator he’s turning out to be!” Ha! Love this post. And I can very much relate to the trying lots of new things part. Maybe you weren’t wired to stick to just one work out method? Variety can be the spice of life πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 20, 2013

      Thanks a ton ! Absolutely with you on variety being the spice of life . Hoping I can stick with the Zumba cos I can feel a teeny weeny difference in me :-).
      Your Freshly Press Yourself post was fabulous. It gave me an opportunity to discover so many wonderful bloggers. Great job. Congrats πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. LynAn
    July 19, 2013

    oh my God!!! This is soooo me!!! As far as this weight management is considered, I think we mirror each other!!! I’m on the same boat as you, no doubt!!!!!
    I’m glad to have found your blog through Rian’s Freshly Press Yourself and I’m looking forward to read more of your posts!!! πŸ™‚ I got super excited when I came to know you are from India!! I’m from India too and I haven’t found many Indian bloggers!!! πŸ™‚ So, I’m definitely following!!!!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 20, 2013

      Thank you LnAn for the lovely words ! It feels so good to meet a fellow Indian blogger. Do keep coming this way and we can have a lot more chats πŸ™‚

      Like

      • LynAn
        July 21, 2013

        sure will! πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Abhra
    July 19, 2013

    Hi, very well written – I landed up in your blog from Indiblogger and enjoyed this post completely. Well written πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Nic Freeman
    July 18, 2013

    Thanks for sharing. It’s all about having fun isn’t it? I love food, but I also love the outdoors – green, fresh, happy wilderness – so I’ve found the best way to keep fit is to fling myself outside with as much energy and enthusiasm as I can muster.

    It’s a tricky balance though right? All the best πŸ™‚

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 18, 2013

      Nic, thnx for dropping in πŸ™‚
      There’s something in my genes which has build a healthy dislike for any physical activity if it’s for reducing weight. I can walk for hours if it’s for travel, in fact I loved walking in Siem Reap. So, I’ve turned to dance which I love. Hope to stick with this πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Nish
    June 27, 2013

    Same here. Gyms have made a healthy profit from me paying huge amounts and then never turning up 😦

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 27, 2013

      As I was telling a friend of mine, there’s a whole generation of us who love food, want to lose weight and hate to exercise πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. musingsofcee
    June 21, 2013

    The gym and I are pretty much on the same terms. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

