The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

I Want To Be…

The first serious question I remember being asked as a child was ‘What do you want to be when you grow up ?”  This question must have been asked and answered by almost all human beings down the centuries. I imagine the children of  the Paleolithic Age too would definitely have been asked this. How interesting those answers must have been ! “I want to outrun and outshootspear my dad when I become big “. (well, a lot of our teens would surely empathise with this lil cave child!) or “I want to climb the tallest tree when I grow up” !

I too went the route of wanting to be a teacher, nurse,bus-conductor etc.At one time, somewhere in my teens, I was very sure that I would be an astronaut. I dreamed of floating around in space with a bubble upturned on my head and the top position in my list of preferred destinations went to NASA. Now, just the thought of all that black space and floating around is enough to give me vertigo for a week ! This was decades before I discovered my fear of heights so I guess I had a lucky escape when my mind jumped onto the next career prospect which was to become an engineer. A couple of months of studying Physics and Chemistry cured me of that. Those two years of studying science is a blur and the only thing I remember is time spend with friends. Those were some of the best days of my life with studies being the last priority ! I went on to study management and  now I’ve ended up romancing words.

The kids of today have so many options and as parents it’s so heartening to know that they can do such a variety of things. Interestingly,the beginning is always the same, no matter what they end up doing. Even now, drivers, policemen and pilots are the favoured careers of lil boys, and teachers, doctors and actors are what lil girls want to be. My children too have their career paths chosen,but  it keeps changing with the progression in their ages. My teen’s very first career choice for a long time ie until she was 4 or 5, was to be a mom. Of course each time she voiced this desire I would melt into a puddle of love. Well, that soon died a natural death, and then she was sure she would be a doctor like her grandmother. By this time, my lil one was on the scene and she decided that if her sister becomes a doctor she would be a nurse. Later she must have thought that she needs to be on a more equal footing and so the nurse uniform was scrapped in favour of a dentist’s coat. I secretly rejoiced cos my teeth are a mess and visions of free treatment danced before my eyes. All my hopes were dashed when my dentist decided to be a teacher. By then my older one had progressed to an air-hostess, a career which for some reason I never cottoned to. So it was quite a relief to see her change gears and decide to go the fashion designer way. Again I was beset by thoughts of me turned out in the latest fashions, swathed in gorgeous chiffons and georgettes.After a few months, my budding fashion designer quietly decided to be a writer. I gave up on all my dreams of getting any freebies from my children! By this time the lil one had started dabbling in colours(her paint splattered clothes will stand testimony to that) and she seemed to be going the creative way. Currently the writer is very interested in graphic designing (Where did that come from?) and she goes completely gaga over graffiti.The lil one has her brushes in one hand and a spatula in the other. She’s starting to get interested in cooking. I just couldn’t stop my incorrigible mind from dreaming about macaroons and pannacottas .Of course some yummy cakes and cookies have come my way so I’m not complaining.

For all I know, my graphic designer might take a deviation and decide to become a bio-technologist and the novice chef might go back to teaching. I too have decided not to give up on dreaming. I shall simply change the nature of my dreams and hope I can keep up with the changing professions. I’m so reminded of my mom at this juncture. She still sighs deeply and dramatically over the fact that both my brother and I didn’t follow her footsteps and become a part of the medical fraternity. I would just say, Lucky medical fraternity 🙂

5 comments on “I Want To Be…

  1. InnerDialect
    July 30, 2013

    Really so good, Ive re blogged … thank you 🙂 !

    Like

  2. InnerDialect
    July 30, 2013

    Reblogged this on DiJiTalk.com.

    Like

  3. gabrielablandy
    June 28, 2013

    Loved this post – so inspiring! It always strikes me as funny that even though following dreams offers so much happiness, people often have to be reminded and encouraged to do it!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 28, 2013

      Thank you:) Somewhere on the way to becoming an adult, we trade in our dreams for securing our future, little realising that the two can go together. Steve Jobs remained a child at heart and went the way of his dreams and in so doing gave us such wonderful products. I hope I can give my children the freedom to follow their dreams 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

