The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Streets Of My Heart

Horns blaring dust flying

children getting under everyone’s feet,

Loud conversations and laughter even louder.

Colourful saris kissing the helms

of crisp white dhotis,

I’ve left my heart on these streets.

The smiles are genuine

their welcome unmistakable

The warm hugs truly enveloping

tempting me to never let go.

Is it any wonder that

I’ve left my heart on these streets ?

Here, words are steeped in love

anger is pure and without malice.

The colour of the earth

is the rich brown of compassion

I can’t help it but,

I’ve left my heart on these streets.

When I’m weary

and bowed down by life

I just take a deep breath

and travel on wings of reminiscences

To those streets

The streets where I”ve left my heart.

6 comments on “Streets Of My Heart

  1. jahidakhtar
    August 23, 2013

    Beautiful composition Anjana!

    Regards,
    Jahid
    Flashbacks

    Like

  2. chris
    August 23, 2013

    kollaaam

    Like

  3. gabrielablandy
    August 22, 2013

    That last section starting ‘when’ was so beautiful!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 22, 2013

      Thank you Gabriela 🙂
      I still hv to figure out how to separate paragraphs in the WPtheme I’m using. It’s so frustrating when I see all the lines together when I post poems .

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2013 by in India, life, Poetry, Relationsips, World and tagged , , , , .
