The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Coffee In My Life

Water might be the elixir of life but coffee is the magic brew which makes life worth living ! Coffee has been witness to so many precious moments in my life.

My coffee moments in no particular order……..

~Soaking up the love with which my grandmom served her yummy coffee when I returned from a fractious day in college

~Falling asleep over my books and then jolting awake only to have a sip of the awesome coffee my mom used to keep in a flask for me. That flaskful of coffee was often the only reason I sat up to study !

~Enjoying the freshness of morning while drinking my morning cuppa, lazily contemplating the activities of the day, while  my parents read the newspaper (cherished memory)

~ As a student, huddling on our kitchen step, hands wrapped around a huge mug of steaming coffee ( actually, more milk than coffee), gazing out at the sunshine gilding the tree tops and feeling content

~Blearily walking towards the hostel mess to take a sip of nectar, which was a huge mug of the blackest strongest coffee. The awesome aroma of coffee on nippy mornings was simply invigorating.

~ Lingering over hot, watery coffee served in a chipped white cup, with Mr.A in the college canteen and not wanting the day to end

~Enjoying filter coffee in blistering hot Chennai made by a dear friend

~ Relishing frothy capuccino and hot chocolate with my daughters in a café

~ Cooling down with tall glasses of  cold, sinfully delicious coffee after an exhausting shopping session with my mom

~ Juggling a glass of piping hot coffee at a tiny wayside joint while discussing life’s vagaries with a friend

~Feeling totally perked up after drinking wonderfully sweet and strong black coffee post dinner at my mom-in-law’s house, and getting energized for another round of conversation and fun with everybody gathering around the dining table.

~ Guzzling endless cups of tasteless coffee at the workplace and the mind blowing conversations that happened. Even now coffee in Styrofoam cups brings to mind the warmth and camaraderie of those days.

~Getting shocked out of my wits by the bitterness of an espresso when I’d expected the sweetness of a cappuccino !

~Drinking my first coffee of the day  from my lovely blue ceramic mug, gazing out at empty streets and sleeping buildings soaking up the beautiful silence

26 comments on “Coffee In My Life

  1. SHIRLEY MAYA TAN
    January 12, 2014

    I feel the same about coffee (and green tea too). While water may be the source of life, coffee is a necessary brew for the palette and spirit – at least, to me 🙂

    Like

  2. dreamtheimmpossible
    December 26, 2013

    Coffee is what attracted me and made read it all… Lovely snap I could feel aroma right here 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 30, 2013

      Thank you dreamimpossible ! I cannot take credit for the beautiful picture which I got from flickr 🙂

      Like

  3. kismitoffeebar
    December 20, 2013

    It is my first time here and I couldn’t have read anything better! I LOVE coffee – LOOOOOOOOOVE, incase you missed that.

    You memories brought back a lot of my own, similar at that! My husband and I make sure we have filter coffee every morning before we go our ways. And that is the best part of the day for me! 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 21, 2013

      Hi toffee 🙂
      It’s great to see you here. So glad to meet a fellow coffee lover.Coffee is such an integral part of my life, and it’s present in a lot of precious memories. Looking forward to more coffee moments for you and me 🙂

      Like

  4. numerounity
    December 12, 2013

    Thats a good click…very good.

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 13, 2013

      Hi numerounity ! Unfortunately I cannot take any credit for the click which was taken by the photographer whose name I’ve mentioned under the pic.I got it through flickr which is the source of a lot of awesome pics. Thnx for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  5. Jaya subramanian
    December 12, 2013

    Loved it! Especially with hot steaming filter coffee in my hands ….. Feeling awake but lazing on my favourite sofa!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 12, 2013

      Hi Jaya,
      Thnx for stopping and commenting. Coffee is an invigorating drink and yet it fits in so beautifully even when we are lazing around 🙂

      Like

  6. Blasphemous Aesthete
    December 11, 2013

    I was introduced into the coffee lovers group when I was in college. Class off, go drink coffee, class bunk, go drink coffee, midnight, go drink coffee (double), any occasion? Coffee please, No occasion? Coffee please.

    I loved it, and when less became unsatisfying, we doubled it up, but never let go of coffee. In fact, I thought I’d open up a R&D unit for exploring the various ways we could make coffee and travel the entire world for tasting the different coffees. Yepp, world tour for the love of coffee is still in my bucketlist.

    A coffeelicious post!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 12, 2013

      Hola Aesthete 🙂
      A simple cup of coffee has so many memories associated with it, each one more precious than the other. A coffee based tour around the world sounds fantastic !

      Like

  7. Manju
    December 11, 2013

    Loved it all the more coz I love my coffee for all reasons and at all seasons. Simple narration, yet beautifully executed thoughts. Loved it 🙂

    Like

  8. dreamzandclouds
    December 11, 2013

    Nice post! I like coffee too but I am more of a Tea person….anytime is tea-time for me. 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: The Many Stages Of A Rider and the “I’m Not Good Enough” dilemma « NewsBook by Aspire Equestrian Riding Academy

  10. rakhisn
    December 10, 2013

    I loved the read, very interesting !

    http://www.rakhii.com

    Like

  11. bookmammal
    December 10, 2013

    I don’t drink coffee, but I love your memories of it! What a nice post to read on such a freezing cold winter day!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 11, 2013

      Hi book mammal ! It’s quite warm here in the south of India. But it’s slightly nippy in the early morning and when I drink my coffee I’ll now think of you 🙂

      Like

  12. cleopatralovesbooks
    December 10, 2013

    Brilliant I can almost taste the coffee… great picture too!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 11, 2013

      Thanx cleopatra 🙂 Flickr is such a life saver when it comes to pictures !

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2013 by in Aromas, Coffee, life, Memories, women, World and tagged , , , .
