The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

My Child

I can walk tirelessly

Through blistering deserts.

But a hint of sadness

On your face

Makes me falter.

 

I can withstand

The harshest of winds.

But your head

Bowed down in despair

Makes me stumble

 

I can swim untiringly

Across the deepest ocean.

But your eyes

Awash with tears

Makes me flounder.

 

On your journey

Through life’s varying landscape,

Know that

Every ache and every dream of yours

Finds an echo in my soul.

 

 

 

10 comments on “My Child

  1. Arathi Mohan
    August 25, 2015

    You wield a lovely pen Anjana. This poem got me good. Cheers, Arathi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 25, 2015

      Arathi, such wonderful thoughts coming my way is such an encouragement. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Silvia Writes
    April 1, 2014

    So very beautiful. These lines leave such an impression on me: Every ache and every dream of yours/ Finds an echo in my soul.
    Indeed it does!
    Best,
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      April 1, 2014

      Thank you Sylvia ! When it comes to our children, we want their paths to be strewn with roses and their minds to be filled with joy πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. LynAn
    March 30, 2014

    wow!!!! “finds an echo in my soul”-just wow!!!!!

    Like

  4. dreamzandclouds
    March 24, 2014

    beautiful!

    Like

  5. sabeeha
    March 21, 2014

    One word. wow! you just got a fan for this poem πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2014 by in Kids, Mother, Poetry, women and tagged , , , .
