The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

A New Tomorrow

 

The landscape is forbidding

I still my trembling limbs

and gaze silently around

I cannot turn back now

when all else is lost.

 

Streams of solitude abound

with pebbles of loneliness and

dark currents of sorrow

Drifting soundlessly through the landscape are

misty wraiths of hope.

 

They try tirelessly

to get a hold somewhere

to catch a ray of sunshine

to clutch a vine of joy

to take root and grow.

 

The wraiths give me the courage

to pick up the pieces

of a life that was mine

until I smashed it to smithereens

and gave in without a fight.

 

Now I stand here

determined to wrestle it back

I’m defeated, bowed and beaten

but I know I’m not broken yet

I’ll see a new tomorrow and get my lost smile back.

 

 

 

 

9 comments on “A New Tomorrow

  1. Tammi Kale
    August 29, 2014

    Beautifully haunting and inspiring.

    Like

  2. Blasphemous Aesthete
    July 26, 2014

    Life’s that. Ups and downs, the higher the ups, the deeper the lows, it’s how best can we juggle those 🙂

    So, do get that smile back!

    Blasphemous Aesthete

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      July 28, 2014

      Hi Aesthete !
      Smile’s firmly in place 🙂
      This poem has no connection to my life. I wrote it after watching other people’s experiences. But thnx a lot for the concern .

      Like

  3. rambling poet
    July 25, 2014

    beautifully written, very emotive.

    Like

  4. Vijay Chaitanyam
    July 25, 2014

    One relates to the reality — so well captured by you so simply, is a quest to learn from the past and live with it —-

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2014 by in life, LOneliness, Poetry, Relationsips, women, World and tagged , , , , , , , .
