The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

A Walk To Enjoy

My daughters leave for school at around 7 in the morning. Usually, that’s the time I metamorphoses from a hare on steroids into a somnolent sloth and curl up on the couch. But of late, I’ve been resisting the call of the couch, pulling on my sneakers and dragging myself out for a walk. It’s not that I’m a big fan of exercise. In fact I have a strong suspicion that I’m allergic to it, since each time I exercise, I break out in a sweat and feel that I’m going to expire on the spot ! Unfortunately, due to a slightly high value in an extremely annoying index called the BMI (Body Mass Index), I have been advised to work off some BM.

Walking is my preferred form of exercise. I’ve tried a lot of stuff, from Yoga to Zumba and I’ve had to discontinue everything ; some due to my unwilling mind and a few because of my unhealthy back. The neighbourhood I live in is ideal for walking, with its broad leafy avenues and sparse traffic in the mornings. There’re also a dedicated swarm of walkers who start while the sun is still making up its mind whether to peep out or not. Thankfully most of these determined walkers reach their respective abodes by the time I slowly amble out of my building. My co-walkers include a huge number of senior citizens and a sprinkling of determined souls. I’ve noticed that whenever I pass a focused walker, I unknowingly speed up my steps and then gradually slow down to my normal crawl.

Once I’m out of my apartment, I start enjoying my walk. The dappled sunlight, beautiful fresh breeze and the general sense of a new day seeps in and makes me content. There’re some parts of my route which have fast become my favourite spots. There’s a quiet stretch where the sunlight falling through the leaves creates an exquisite latticed pattern on the road; yet another where a rusty hulking transformer is made endearing by the bright yellow wild flowers climbing all over it. I usually stop for a second under a banyan tree whose leaves all seem to be asleep. I wait to see whether they’ll wake up and nod at me. There’re are mannequins in store windows who set me thinking whether they’ve been partying hard while the store was empty. Would they be nursing hang overs ?

Then there’re the people all around who are so interesting to observe. School going children abound, waiting for school buses, all eager eyed and freshly bathed. It’s amusing to see the marked decrease in the eagerness quotient as the age increases. The lil ones are restless and chatty, while the older ones are almost like statues with their lack of movement and distinct lack of enthusiasm. I hide a smile when I see them since I too have gone through similar stages as a student. People on their way to work are easily identifiable due to the hurry in their gait and focused expression. I get whiffs of soap and powder when I pass some of them and it’s so refreshing. I eagerly wait to see elderly couples on their morning jaunt. Most of them look so tuned to each other, with their easy smiles and quiet conversations. The term ‘golden years’ gains a new meaning when I see the joy they get from each other’s presence.

There aren’t any places of worship any where on my route, so a couple of days back I was intrigued when I saw a middle-aged gentleman with folded hands, closed eyes and complete devotion on his face. He was facing a school gate; with an amused look I went closer to see what he was doing. I was struck dumb when I saw a church steeple rising above the trees in the distance. He prayed for some time and then walked away. I really felt humbled by the depth of faith I had witnessed, which did not depend on expensive rituals or huge Β grandiose edifices.

All these sights ensure that I’m never bored during my morning amble. My head is constantly swivelling from one side to the other in order to drink in all the sights. I feel slightly guilty when I see serious walkers working off the BM (body mass) which actually is the entire purpose of the walk. Thankfully for me the guilt doesn’t get time to settle in cos my mind has already slipped to the next wondrous image on the streets. My favourite music on my headphones also add to my joy. I must be one of the very few people who listen to classical music while walking. Mr.A and my teen are ardent supporters of the fast numbers and I guess it’s because they walk at a fast pace. Slow music is the perfect accompaniment for my crawl !

In spite of all these attractions while walking, I still end up making excuses not to go. If I go continuously for a week it makes me feel that I’ve accomplished quite a lot, and so I relax for the next three weeks. But I shall not give up walking; after all I have to reduce my BM πŸ™‚

9 comments on “A Walk To Enjoy

  1. Nish
    December 23, 2014

    That area looks so beautiful. I would love to go on morning walks, but just don’t have the energy to wake up early in the morning for it 😦

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 23, 2014

      Nish, this pic is just something I got off Flickr. My walking route is much more green and shady than this. I didn’t have a good enough pic and I was too impatient to wait πŸ™‚
      I too have to drag myself out, but sometimes the beauty of the place gets to me and I set forth πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Aneesh Sreekumar
    December 19, 2014

    Great post! Just out of curiosity: Which city do you stay in?

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      December 22, 2014

      Thnx Aneesh. I’m in Kochi πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Aneesh Sreekumar
        December 22, 2014

        Oh That’s Cool! Right from the beginning i was guessing which city this could be!. I felt you could have sneaked Kochi somewhere in your post coz there are not many green lungs in cities these days and I hope Kochi still have them! But then you were writing about the experience and Im talking about being pragmatic! Anyway Its all Good!!
        Would that be too much if I expect a post or too from you regarding Biennale 2014?

        Like

      • The Glass Bangle
        December 22, 2014

        Aneesh,I didnt mention Kochi because as you rightly pointed out, the post is about the experience and not the place. Kochi does have a lot of greenery still. Concrete mammoths are making inroads but there are green belts around the city. It’s amazing that you mention the biennale since my next post is about the fantastic congregation of art happening here. Working on it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aneesh Sreekumar
        December 22, 2014

        Good to hear that!! I am really looking forward to it !! πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. dreamzandclouds
    December 19, 2014

    the sights you describe is good enough for anyone to be motivated to get up from the couch, wear those sneakers & venture out πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2014 by in Health, Health and women, life, Morning Walk, School, women, Words, World and tagged , , , , , , , , .
