The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

A Fervent Plea From A Stressed Out Mom

Yesterday I received a Whatsapp forward which was a prayer, for parents of children writing their exams. It was beautifully worded and I passed it along to a couple of my friends. On looking back, I feel that it was too calm for someone like me, with a daughter writing her Class 10 exams and a laid-back 11-year-old with a pathological dislike for exams. I have a truckload of fervent pleas straining to burst out of my heart. What does a blogger mom do in such a situation ? No prizes for answering, on the contrary you my dear readers are the willing/unwilling witnesses to my prayer.

My Prayer 

Dear Lord, please help me to hang on to what little shreds of sanity I’ve managed to retain in this very trying phase of life. Help me not to surrender to my baser instincts and howl like a banshee when I have a dire situation in hand viz the coming together of diverse elements, like a slightly stressed out teen, an impish 11-year-old in a world of her own and a spouse with mercurial mood shifts. Of course I too am in this cauldron, merrily boiling away. Cool my temper when I feel like clonking Mr.A when he wildly swings from “Does she have to study so much ?”, to “Why isn’t she studying ?” Kindly help the poor man make up his mind as to what he wants her to do.

Let my children understand that there’s a 4 year gap between them and they have to behave accordingly. The 11-year-old acts like a 15-year-old and vice versa. Please Lord, make the younger one understand that lazing around with a smirk in front of her sister and listening to music at a volume which can easily be heard miles away,  is really not conducive to my peace of mind. You also have to cool down my teen’s rage which is quite understandably set off by the above mentioned activities of her sibling. At the same time, please make my teen aware of the fact that the time spent in conjuring elaborate schemes of revenge can be better utilised in studying.

Dear Lord, please spare a few moments for my maid. She has to realise that it is not necessary for her to add to the drama in the house by throwing her own tantrums.  This certainly is not college and she will not be given any extra credits for class participation. It’s possible that she’s trying not to feel left out. It would have been acceptable some other time, but not right now when I’m running thin on Patience.

I’m so thankful that my teen has created a timetable for her studies and is adhering to it. But you have to assist me here, in my efforts to din it into her that it’s a timetable and not the Indian Constitution. She can veer away from it once in a while to listen to my lectures. I’m a mother and I have the sacred right to deliver long monologues to my children. She needs to comprehend that “I’m studying !” is not sufficient reason to escape from my ramblings. Or do you also agree with her on this? Please help me gain some clarity on this issue.

Dear God, I wish to become a Tiger Mom; cracking the whip, barking instructions at my offspring, creating punishing schedules and frowning on rest and relaxation. Or maybe not, because I’m starting to scare myself !

Why does my teen think that during exams I become a fount of knowledge ? I acknowledge that I may have misled her on this topic in the past, but she should know better ! The other day while I was peacefully crushing candies on my phone, my daughter approached me with a doubt. The sudden shift from the world of candies to the world of science was in itself a shock to my system. Then she asked me a question which had words like ‘evolution’ and ‘generation shifts’ in it. For a few seconds I gave a very creditable impression of a weak headed goldfish – slack jaw, glazed eyes and an open mouth. Thankfully she quickly grasped the futility of the situation and quietly told me that she’d check with her grandmother i.e. my mother-in-law, who’s an absolute whiz on such stuff. I couldn’t even send a plea your way Lord, since my brain actually stopped functioning.

Dear Lord, is there a secret portal in washrooms which leads to an alternate universe ? My teen’s visit to the washroom increases dramatically during exams. Or is she just enjoying the peace and quiet in there with some of her favourite books for company. Needs further investigation on my part.

Lord, please do not let me obsess over my weight. I can’t give up calorie-laden yummy food, so the only alternative is to get over the fear of putting on more weight. After all, what are a few kilos here and there, right ? I know that this has nothing to do with exams and kids and studying but since we’re in a conversation or rather a monologue on my part and silent listening on yours, I thought I’d drop a gentle hint.

Dear Lord, this is just the beginning of exams and already I’m a wreck. As the days progress, you’ll find me quite often on the hotline with you. Please bear with me. Love and only Love. Yours faithfully – A Stressed Out Mom

15 comments on “A Fervent Plea From A Stressed Out Mom

  1. ilirianwanderer
    March 26, 2015

    😀 I would have loved to hear my own Mom’s version of this one!! With three kids in the house, she had one hell of a time! 😉

    Especially when teaching me Math 😛 I was so good at it that I used to flunk regularly for it since 5th Std. When I reached 9th my school principal said they wouldn’t let me attend my boards as they were sure I’d flunk. To add to that they made my folks take me to a child care centre to check if I was retarded so that they could make me drop Math in 10th grade. Unfortunately for me, the lady there told my folks that there was nothing wrong with me apart from the fat that I am downright lazy 😛 😀

    Amma used to get so furious everytime I stared back at her blankly after she had spent an hour explaining a sum to me. I really couldn’t tell her that I hadn’t heard a word since I was way too busy trying to figure out how to make her give me a break 😛

    Lovely post! 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 27, 2015

      Hats off to your mom ! I’m struggling to stay afloat with just two kids. And I can empathise with your mom’s rage at facing a blank stare from kids after explaining some thing which I’m sure she herself must not be liking very much 😊
      As for the school you went to, it’s a shame that they didn’t try to understand why you were not doing well in Math. One of the things which saps a child’s spirit is being labelled unfairly. Hope you haven’t taken the feedback of the school to heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ilirianwanderer
        March 27, 2015

        😀 I must say I did take it pretty bad back then but then again, I guess my school was tired of trying to make me clear my math paper. I must add that they did take a hell lot of trouble to help me along but the fact that I had shut my mind to the subject wasn’t very helpful. So I won’t blame my school completely.

        Like

      • The Glass Bangle
        April 6, 2015

        Math has been a villain in countless lives 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • ilirianwanderer
        April 6, 2015

        😀

        Like

  2. Pingback: A Prayer from My Beleaguered Daughter | The Glass Bangle

  3. Maya
    March 4, 2015

    Hey, very well written! I love your sense of humour. I can relate a lot on your blog – I have the same age kids and with the same attitudes. i feel ‘I am not alone’ 🙂 keep writing!!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 5, 2015

      Thank you Maya ! Great to meet one more mom bravely wading through parenthood – a strenuous journey no doubt, but one which gives back so much in return 🙂

      Like

  4. Rajesh Jose
    March 4, 2015

    Anju
    Great Read. Now I know one of the possible reasons why children are sent to boarding schools — this could spare the parents the agony you have described. 🙂
    Keep writing.

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 4, 2015

      Thanks Jose ! I admit that boarding school sounds like a wonderful option during exam time but the sentimental mom part in me just won’t allow it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Susanna J. Sturgis
    March 4, 2015

    Love this. Love your sense of humor — if you can hang on to that, you will survive. P.S. As a compulsive eater more or less in recovery, I’m here to testify: food is a powerful tranquillizer, and boy, does it become attractive when stress is breaking out all around you. 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 4, 2015

      Thank you Susanna, and love you for the wonderful words 🙂
      Food and stress buster go so well together 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kokilagupta
    March 4, 2015

    Hey ! where is the button for ‘super-like’ and ‘sympathize’ and ‘ when ‘Dear God I am in the same boat ‘ …
    I was nodding through out the post regarding ‘fount of knowledge,tiger mom, weighty issues …’ and I too need that hotline !
    though I am yet many years away from being mum to a teen..
    Love n wishes ..
    PS . loved your blog name 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 4, 2015

      Thanks a ton Kokila ! The years just flash by in what seems like seconds and before you know it you’ll be following the path set by millions of moms before us 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • kokilagupta
        April 6, 2015

        yeah… not a very happy thought .*rolling eyes* :p
        but with 2 kids of 10 and 7 have made me realistic and I know that you are right … All moms are ..sigh ..including mine .more sighing !
        loved it dear 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2015 by in Family, Father, Humour, Kids, life, Mother, Parenting, Teenager, women, Words, World and tagged , , , , , , .
