The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

A Prayer from My Beleaguered Daughter

(I had put up a prayer to God in this blog around two days back, about my stress during my teen’s exams. She was quite aggrieved to see my version and wanted a chance to talk to God about her side of the story. Now that exams are over, here’s what she has to say 🙂 . A guest post from my daughter )

Dear Lord,

I’m sure you heard my mother’s plea during exam time. I assure you it’s all hyperbole. I’m the one going through all the stress of exams and I just can’t understand why my mother has to get stressed ! I would have replied at that time itself but then that would have given rise to another lecture on wasting my time during exams.

Lord, It’s so unfair that break-time is over before I can relax, while study time seems to expand disproportionately. I wonder why nobody has done any research on this unique phenomenon ? Seriously ! It’s an issue that affects millions of children across the world and nobody has looked into it. It would be great dear Lord if you could maybe redress the matter so that it’s the other way round.

Another thing is that during study time, the daydream nixies are out to get me. It’s like, when I’m supposed to concentrate on Mr. Ho Chi Minh’s accomplishments, my train of thought derails and goes it’s own way. It’s a very interesting journey but it does cause a lot of problems with a certain parent in the house.

God, now I come to a very significant aspect of exam time – interruptions during break. My mom doesn’t seem to understand the sanctity of this period, which is for recharging my weary brain cells. She keeps asking me when I’ll start studying. Another favourite question of hers which makes me cross-eyed with suppressed rage is ‘Do you realize you have exams ?’ How can I forget, with my mother including that hated word in all her conversations ? ! I’ll have to work out a strategy to preserve my sanity during break time interruptions. I wonder whether wearing a helmet will save me from her lectures. I just have a very simple doubt – Why can’t the lectures happen during study time ? What a welcome break it would be! As of now, my only means of escape is to tell her that I have to study.

Lord, you really have to assist me to achieve a perfectly attentive expression when mom lectures me. As soon as my mind recognizes that a lecture has started, it goes traipsing through the boulevards and avenues of my imagination. It’s very difficult not to let my eyes glaze over during these times. Unfortunately my mom is a pro at finding out when my mind wanders.

Dear God, is it possible to maybe create more folds in my brain just for exams? I can’t seem to remember a thing that I studied. After many hours of hard work, I think that I’ve completed my Social portions and all the info has been packed and stored in my memory, with ‘Fragile’ and ‘This Way Up’ signs stamped on it. After some time when I attempt to recollect it I suddenly realize that Mr.History with his kings, battles and a whole contingent of dates, has staged a walk out ! I don’t mind him going for a short stroll and returning, but the wily creature goes on an extended trip. What with trying to tame such creatures, the life of a student is tough indeed.

Why is it my dear Lord that I’m besieged by contradicting emotions during exam time ? This is the period when I’m overcome by love for my younger sister. Fact is, this emotion overlaps with my intense desire to throttle her. You want to know why ? She isn’t the tiny angel everyone thinks she is. That little child only finds time to do fun stuff when I’m studying. Shouldn’t there be a law or something against such cruelty to exam-writing siblings ?

God, please help me overcome my hatred for the alarm clock. I can’t begin to describe the intense emotions that run through me when I hear it cheerfully trilling in the early morning. I have to get over my instinct to silence it and immediately go back to sleep.

I did notice that my mom slipped in a request for weight loss in her prayers. Please grant her that wish and while you’re at it, please do spare a thought to making her get me a phone.

Lord, I know you’re with me and I sleep better with that info tucked in my mind. Looking forward to more conversations and chats.

A Beleaguered Daughter

20 comments on “A Prayer from My Beleaguered Daughter

  1. cleopatralovesbooks
    June 5, 2015

    A well written piece that accurately conveys those awful emotions that coincide with the important time of life.

    Like

  2. dilip
    April 15, 2015

    A freel flow of thoughts and writing from cute little Megha 🙂 Wishing her all the best 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      April 16, 2015

      Thank you for the wishes Dilip. I shall convey it to Megha, though she would not be too happy about the ‘little’ tag considering she’s a teenager 🙂

      Like

  3. Jasmine
    March 27, 2015

    Great work Megha! I see more of her Dad’s style of using words! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ilirianwanderer
    March 26, 2015

    😀 Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful! Did your daughter write that?! She is an excellent writer and both of you have a similar style of writing too!

    I could relate to every word she has written especially the daydreaming nixies and that intense “affection” for siblings 😉

    I have two of them. An elder and one younger. Both are guys and both are damn good at studies. Add to that the fact that my kid bro is the kind that gets 100/100 for Math! I mean who does that?!

    I am the dunce of the family so… 😛 😀

    Hilarious post! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 27, 2015

      Dear Ilirian wanderer,
      Please don’t use the word dunce. A person who articulates her thoughts so well is anything but !
      Thank you for the great feedback about my daughter’s writing. She’s not very happy to be compared to me 😊. She’s just ventures into this interesting world of words and so trying out what voice she wants to adopt. And I think reading my posts has definitely influenced her 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Maya
    March 25, 2015

    This is hilarious as well as thought provoking! Your daughter is as good a writer as you !! fantastic job! Good luck with her exam results:)

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 25, 2015

      Thank you so very much for the very kind words, Maya. I’ll definitely convey your wishes to her 🙂

      Like

  6. dreamzandclouds
    March 25, 2015

    wow TGB! your daughter is as good at writing as you….like mother like daughter for sure! 🙂

    Like

  7. susanlvsusan verghis
    March 25, 2015

    Hahaha…good Megha…keep it up…loved the part …this emotion overlaps with my intense desire to throttle her…..now what’ll u do when Neha starts writing too..!!Love to u all…and keep writing..!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 25, 2015

      Thank you so much dear Sus ! Megha does not have access to my blog so I’m doing the replying for comments coming her way 🙂
      I’m so glad that Neha does not show any inclination to write (as of now) or else I would have had a blog war on my hands 🙂

      Like

  8. Rajesh Jose
    March 25, 2015

    Lovely Anju. Makes for really great reading. Please tell her to keep writing.

    Like

  9. Uma Sundaram
    March 25, 2015

    So beautiful written… I was in splits (Oh Lord!!!!) … I remembered the glazed look on my daughter’s face when she faces her own “Demon” Ma… yes… You are right.. Mom is a pro at finding out when the mind is gone a-wandering.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in Examination, Family, Humour, Kids, life, Mother, Parenting, Prayer, School, Teenager, Thoughts, Words and tagged , , , , , , , .
