The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Romancing the Train

Faster than fairies, faster than witches  ;  Bridges and houses, hedges and ditches “

 Each time I travel by train, I hear an echo of these words of R L Stevenson in the clackety clack of the wheels. The beauty and magic of watching the countryside hurtle past in brilliant flashes of colour is so correctly depicted in his poem. I’m a huge fan of train travel though unfortunately the frequency of my travels has come down a lot. I realized that my love affair with trains remained as passionate as ever when I travelled from my home town to Kochi, recently. The journey was a short one of 4 hours. But it was more than enough to get reacquainted with an old love. I was in train-heaven since I had managed to get the window seat. As a child, this was the most coveted seat and a lot of wrangling and bargaining was usually involved before it could be attained. Many a time I had to surrender it to my brother in spite of falling back on my last resort – tears. So this time when I got the window seat without having to kill anybody for it, I felt terribly happy. Even though I kept a very benign expression on my face, inside me was an ecstatic little girl doing a mad jig. When I look out through the glassed window, I’m taken back for a moment to my childhood when the trains ran on coal. There were no air-conditioned compartments and getting flecks of coal dust in the eyes was a part of travel.

I have my own ritual when I settle down in my seat; in fact I’ve seen many travellers with their own particular rituals of settling down. I always have a bottle of water and a couple of books with me. After pushing the bottle into its holder, and stowing my bigger bag overhead, I take out a book and settle down. Anybody glancing my way would be forgiven if they thought that I was getting ready for a long reading session. But the truth is that I hardly read, maybe a couple of pages at the most. The scenery outside has me in its grasp, and tearing myself away from that turns out to be an impossible task.

It was a somnolent lazy afternoon and it was a pleasure to lean back in my seat and surrender to the beauty of the countryside. I felt like I was watching a series of short movies because each scene came with its own mood and story. Railway lines usually pass behind houses, and the backyards give a more fascinating view of life than courtyards. The debris of life is collected in backyards and so many interesting facets of life are revealed in these bits and pieces. Abandoned tricycles give an indication of a child who has left his carefree years behind and stepped beyond the confines of his mother’s arms. Clothes merrily flapping on clothes-lines have me constructing elaborate pictures of the entire family in my mind, complete with visiting cousins and relatives.

Since it was a Sunday afternoon, the pace was more relaxed. Children were sitting around with cousins or friends, desultorily swapping stories or playing quiet games. Women could be seen relaxing after the hectic activities of the morning; older women with legs stretched out and younger ones grouped around, with laughter lighting up their faces and weariness reflecting in the droop of shoulders. At some houses, the husband and wife would be sitting on the steps unconscionably leaning into each other and sharing a few words, or sometimes just enjoying a quiet moment together. A glimpse of the scene is all I need to give free rein to my fertile imagination and before I know it we have reached the next station.

The importance of each railway station in the overall hierarchy is reflected in their appearance. I’m not a big fan of the busy stations with teeming humanity, blaring announcements, abundance of tiny kiosks and mountains of luggage stacked around. My favourites are the tiny stations that often have just two platforms, and where many of the trains do not halt. It’s in these tiny out-of-the-way stations that Nature makes its presence felt, with beautiful shady trees left untouched, flowers growing in riotous joy clambering over fences seemingly eager to hold conversations with the speeding trains, and wild greenery crowding around the platforms as if they too want to go on a journey.

Kerala is a riot of green at all times and amidst this when I see flashes of colour it immediately catches my eye. A little hen-coop is transported out of the ordinary by the bright blue tarpaulin stretched across its roof. A sunshine yellow tractor merrily chugging along in a field calls out to me. The most catchy image is that of a pink bus parked in the middle of a tiny bridge with passengers standing outside chatting comfortably. The overcast sky adds to the surreal nature of this scene. I would have loved to find out why the bus was parked in the middle of the bridge and why the passengers were not in a hurry.

But trains do not allow me to linger at one place. They take me onwards, to the next scene, the next story, and the next slice of life. I pass a small temple with a cleanly swept yard and no signs of life, and then a sparkling white mosque. Both waiting patiently to welcome believers, and dispense peace and relief to burdened minds and troubled souls. I’m also fascinated by the small unpaved roads, which abound in the countryside. They look very beguiling, with the richness of the brown earth in sharp contrast to the green around, gnarled roots poking out from the embankments on both sides, and an air of expectancy in the air. The roads that disappear around a bend are the most interesting, since I can have my choice of characters waiting beyond the bend. The destination remains a mystery, which only adds to their charm.

Just like the people I see along the way, the trees too have distinct characters. There are giant trees waiting motionless and with bated breath for the rains to fall from the overcast sky. Others tower near the railway tracks, with bended branches peeking inquisitively towards the trains, trying to figure out what happens inside the rectangles of light which rush past them all the time. Some of these denizens of the forest have the most amazing flowers and one that had flowers hanging downwards like pale feathery chandeliers enthralled me. They looked like fantastic props made by some eccentric designer.

Very soon it was time for me to leave this wondrous world of possibilities and discovery and get back to my life. It’s always a pleasure to get back home after a journey, but this time there’s a slight pang because I don’t know when I’ll be back on a train again. As we pulled into my station, I was swept along by the rush of people eager to reach their destinations. I seemed to be the only one looking at the dusty train with any signs of regret, but I’m sure there are many like me out there somewhere who hanker after the simple joys of train travel.

 

 

 

 

32 comments on “Romancing the Train

  1. peakperspective
    August 16, 2015

    I have always hungered to do a cross-country train journey that would provide me with majestic views and a bazillion potential stories to generate. Your description has made me hunger for that dream even more.
    You wrote such a tantalizing description, it’s becoming harder to ignore that hopeful line on my bucket list.
    Cheers!

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 17, 2015

      The call of trains is really hard to resist. I’m already waiting for my next journey to happen 🙂

      Like

  2. Chaitanya Haram
    August 15, 2015

    You’re welcome!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chaitanya Haram
    August 15, 2015

    This is just a beautiful article!! You had me in your imagination of a train journey I had not a while ago!! amazing article!! 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 15, 2015

      Thank you Chaitanya ! I’m so happy that you enjoyed what I’ve written. Train journeys have a special place in many hearts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sri Kri
    August 10, 2015

    Wow.Anjana you have penned it down very well about the train journey.Observing outside the window is so beautiful.It connects us to the wonderful world of greenery,towers,birds flying,the orange hues of setting sun etc.The sound we make when we enter a tunnel.Awesome moments of our life.
    When we were a child we used to wonder how the moon also followed us.

    Cheers,

    Sriram & Krithiga

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 10, 2015

      Thank you Sri Kri ! Taking a journey into the land of golden memories is so wonderful 🙂

      Like

  5. Susanna J. Sturgis
    August 8, 2015

    This reminds me of all the train trips I used to take between Washington, D.C., and Boston. I’d usually take the Night Owl — leave one city around 10:30 at night and arrive in the other around 8 in the morning, having slept most of the way. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 8, 2015

      Susanna, we need to meet over a cup of coffee ! We’ve got so many common interests to discuss 🙂

      Like

  6. mallumuse
    August 7, 2015

    Anju, your usual descriptive , pictorial writing style, that makes one feel like a feather wafting down in a gentle breeze till we finish reading, suited this topic to a T. I am reminded of those old train rides we took, where stops of 5-6 hours at a station were not uncommon. And the mother of all those train journeys – Trivandrum _ New Delhi in 1983 and the month thereafter. Need I say more. 🙂 – Jayu Chettan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 7, 2015

      J chetta, I really miss those train journeys. The desire to revisit those memories is virtually an ache lodged deep in my mind.
      Thank you for the lovely lovely words 🙂

      Like

  7. Varnam Gump
    August 7, 2015

    Oh the long journeys on the trains. How I miss them. I have many many wonderful memories of train journeys and your post brought back a flood of them. I am a die hard fan of Trains and Indian Railways in particular.
    Now for some self promotion. I wrote here. Would like your feedback. https://dailyluge.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/samosa-and-chai-a-match-made-in-snack-heaven-nostalgia/

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 7, 2015

      Varnam , how could you do this to me ? I just read your post and I so want the samosas ! Right now.The sky is overcast and there’s a cool wind blowing here. All that’s missing are those crisp onion samosas and the adrak chai 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Varnam Gump
        August 7, 2015

        Count me in on the craving for the samosas. I so wish I am on the train with the samosa and a good book :-).

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Glass Bangle
        August 7, 2015

        Perfect combination 🙂

        Like

  8. The Untourists
    August 7, 2015

    So well expressed. I too love train journeys and love to sit in the corner seat (the two berths on top of each other) and read and watch scenery alternately…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. peterjim13
    August 6, 2015

    I’m not a big fan of anything beyond 100 words for a blog (Especially when I am reading while at work), took a little effort to try this one just because of the simple caption. I would have missed this if I went just with the word count.
    I like writing when it is natural and this was one peaceful train journey. We all have imagination when it comes to any sort of travel, but bring that to a paper/blog with ease, needs some skill. Keep writing 🙂 Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 6, 2015

      I’m completely overwhelmed by what you’ve written ! Thank you so very much for those amazing words of encouragement 🙂
      Looking forward to seeing you here

      Liked by 1 person

  10. myfamilyroot
    August 6, 2015

    Nice Blog

    Liked by 1 person

  11. christybharath
    August 6, 2015

    Beautiful description of Kerala. “Riot of green” indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. dreamzandclouds
    August 6, 2015

    oh dear, you took me on that train ride with you and it was indeed a lovely ride with all the stories around 🙂 I applaud your rich imagination 🙂
    BTW even i cannot concentrate on my books while travelling in trains as well as flights; somehow I am more interested in the people or things happening around me…..observing seems to be a better way to pass the time for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nats
    August 6, 2015

    Lovely post and lovely writing. You made reminiscence about my own train journeys.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 6, 2015

      Thank you Nats ! I’m so glad that you could revisit your happy memories through this post 🙂

      Like

  14. Sid Balachandran
    August 6, 2015

    I love the way you’ve documented the whole ‘travelling on the train’ piece. As a reader, it makes me want to jump on the next available one and just travel. So it sort of awakes that partially sleeping wanderlust-er in me. Thank you! And keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

