The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Crimson

He was a poet, dabbling

in words and quicksilver thoughts

They spoke to him

about silences and dreams in black and white

about unicorns and blood-red wine

and sharp shards of glass

 

She was a book

languishing on his desk, littered

with all he held dear

crumpled promises and whispered sighs

bittersweet memories of silken hair

fractured smiles and drained emotions

 

He wanted to fill her

with words etched in gilt and gold

he yearned to write about a

breathtaking smile that threatened

to cut his heart to shreds

leaving stains of rust and blood.

 

She waited with bated breath

hungering for his thoughts.

his blood crept onto the paper

the crimson bands on his wrists

brought salvation and redemption

embracing her finally.

17 comments on “Crimson

  1. kokilagupta
    January 3, 2016

    Your words just brought tears into my eyes.. I am Speechless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      January 3, 2016

      Thank you so much Kokila. It’s feels s o fulfilling when my words find an echo in the reader’s mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alok Singhal
    September 15, 2015

    Your play of words here is intriguing. Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susanna J. Sturgis
    September 14, 2015

    Reblogged this on Write Through It and commented:
    Just found this gem by the author of The Glass Bangle, one of my favorite blogs.Eloquent, intensely visual poetry about writing, and about other things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susanna J. Sturgis
    September 14, 2015

    This is wonderful. Don’t worry about the form — a good poem makes its own form, and if it works, it’s the right form. I’m about to reblog it on Write Through It: On Writing, Editing, and How to Keep Going.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 14, 2015

      Susanna ! I’m totally dumbstruck 🙂
      I never expected so much of love for this poem. Crimson is very close to my heart and I’m so happy that it has garnered so much of love.

      Like

  5. Orange Almonds
    September 10, 2015

    This is a brilliant poem, and I would like to review it on my blog orangealmonds.wordpress.com . With your permission.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 11, 2015

      I’m not too sure about the ‘brilliance’, since being an amateur, I’m completely clueless about the form and fashion of writing poetry. But please carry on with the review and I’ll also get to see what a reader takes away from Crimson 🙂

      Like

      • Orange Almonds
        September 11, 2015

        My review shall explain how it is brilliant. But I shall take my time…thank you for letting me review it

        Liked by 1 person

  6. dreamzandclouds
    September 10, 2015

    this one is so intense! love the way you use your words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thequillincognito
    September 10, 2015

    I love this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sweetha
    September 10, 2015

    WOW!!…ive been following your writings for some time now…they make me smile/think/wonder !! this poem is…intense! i like the way in whcich it is woven….simple and poignant.
    Do keep writing and shedding joy into our lives!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      September 10, 2015

      I have to say Wow ! I’m so over whelmed by your words . Encouraging words are my main fuel to keep at it 😊
      Thanks for being such a sweet reader, Sweetha 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2015 by in Books, Colours, Death, life, Memories, Poetry, Relationsips, Thoughts, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , .
