The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge – Erma Bombeck

The 3 Quotes, 3 Days Challenge has come to my doorstep again or should I say blog-step ? ๐Ÿ™‚ ย This was a task which I thoroughly enjoyed, mainly because it legitimised a favourite activity, viz reading innumerable quotes when I should be doing something more useful yet infinitely boring, like organising my desk. So a big Thank you to CWFM for sending this Challenge my way ๐Ÿ™‚

As usual I spend a week reading quotes and each one seemed more interesting than the other. Then I decided to choose something deep and philosophical. But today when I at last got down to penning the quote, a picture of Erma Bombeck caught my eye and I gleefully got side tracked. She’s one of my favourite writers and I don’t think anyone can beat her unique take on life. She writes with a breezy irreverence which lifts my heart and makes me grin. I also find myself nodding my head in agreement to most of what she says. Isn’t it amazing that there are some issues, seemingly trivial, which cuts across all barriers of country, language, colour and creed ?

The quote I’ve chosen today is something I have experienced countless times and still do. Just yesterday I went into the store for potatoes and came out with two bags full of stuff !

The-odds-of-going-to-the

A part of the Challenge is to nominate 3 bloggers to carry this forward.

  1. Where’s my backpack ?Ailsa has travelled all around the world and done the most marvellous things which include gettingย lost in a labyrinth in Budapest and having ย her ice cream stolen by a gull in Cornwall ! Her blog posts are interesting and full of life, ย and it will make you want to take out your travel bags.
  2. From the Seasonally Occupied Territories... – ย Susannah is a very dear blogger-friend who writes about life in Martha’s Vineyard. I’ve read about Martha’s Vineyard in many books and it’s fascinating to get an up-close view of life as it is lived there.
  3. Scattered Thoughts – Maniparna has an eclectic collection of stuff on her blog. From Haikus to Book reviews to walks down memory lane, she touches on varied subjects which adds a lot of colour and life to her blog.
12 comments on “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge – Erma Bombeck

  1. Susanna J. Sturgis
    March 5, 2016

    OK, you’re on. I’m currently reading The Writer’s Chapbook, a wonderful compendium of lengthy quotes by all kinds of writers on all kinds of writing-related subjects. I could steal all my quotes from there, but maybe I’ll branch out a little.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The quote is so true… ๐Ÿ˜› I’ve experienced it a number of times… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for nominating me. Though I’ve done one post last year on this topic, 3-Day-Quote-Challenge, I think I can do it once more when time permits… ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. Thanks again for all those good words. I’m super-elated… ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dreamzandclouds
    March 3, 2016

    I loved the quote…its so true! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I am glad you decided not to post ‘deep and philosophical’ quotes ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2016 by in 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge, Family, Food, Humour, life, Mother, Quotes, Thoughts, women, World and tagged , , , , , , .
