The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

3 Days 3Quotes Challenge – Day 2

I’ve been slightly tardy about the 3 day part of the Challenge, but since the blogosphere is quite forgiving in that aspect, I decided to chug along with the rest of my quotes. This time I’m completely taken up by Erma Bombeck and there’s none like her when it comes to seeing the lighter side of parenting.  I too am a firm believer in the restorative powers of humour. There’ve been so many moments when I’ve felt that the alternatives were either strangling somebody or laughing at the situation. And a good guffaw is almost like a full-throated war cry ; it helps to let out all that pent-up frustration 🙂

When my children were much smaller I have often felt the need for a time-out, more for myself than for them. Even today when both of them are teens, there are times when I feel like blowing a whistle like a referee and sending one of them away with a red card ! Emma has once again summed up the situation with her inimitable sense of humour.

When-my-kids-become-wild-2

I couldn’t have put it better 🙂

Now comes the part where I nominate 3 bloggers

  1. Daily Luge – Varnam Gump (visit her blog to find out how she came up with this unique name!) is another blogger who has become a friend. We share the same sense of humour and she’s another Erma Bombeck fan. I love Varnam’s poems. She also writes about different aspects of daily living in her blog.
  2. Dreamz and Clouds–  A blogger who is very close to my heart. She writes mainly about books, about her experiences as a gardener and also the incidents in her life. I love to meander through her blog. It feels quite cosy and comfortable.
  3. Wanton Ruminating – Malvika Jaswal’s blog is about books and her art work. She works her way through books at a gallop and leaves me dumb-founded by the amount of reading she gets done ! The fact that she’s also a very talented painter is an added attraction.

 

11 comments on “3 Days 3Quotes Challenge – Day 2

  1. Pingback: The Quote Challenge (Day 3) | dreamzandclouds

  2. Pingback: The Quote Challenge (Day 2) | dreamzandclouds

  3. Pingback: The Quote Challenge (Day 1) | dreamzandclouds

  4. Varnam Gump
    March 11, 2016

    Thanks for the honor Anjana. I will post soon.
    Btw : Missing your “Emma” posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 11, 2016

      Varnam my friend ! Looking forward to your quotes. Erma is eluding me these days. I’m more in like Freddy in Nightmare on Elm Street and the reason is exams ! I’m veering between a stoic acceptance and trumpeting wildly like a hysterical elephant !!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Varnam Gump
        March 11, 2016

        LOL!!! Small but sure glimpse. Emma is in your blood. Did your mom read her when she was pregnant with you by any chance, a la Abhimanyu.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Glass Bangle
        March 12, 2016

        Erma in my blood ! How amazing that would have been 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. dreamzandclouds
    March 8, 2016

    thanks for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

