The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

This time my 3 Days have got stretched out over more than a couple of days ! But it’s such an interesting activity that I didn’t want to leave it unfinished. My earlier two quotes were by the irrepressible Erma Bombeck whose witty take on family and life has seen me through many a time when the blues would descend and smother me.

Another author who makes me laugh out loud is P G Wodehouse . His immortal characters, Bertie Wooster and his valet Mr.Jeeves are two of the most adorable fictional characters I’ve come across. I’ve often wondered about how incredible it would have been if both Β the afore-mentioned gentlemen were to end up as my neighbours. The fact that they were the creations of Mr Wodehouse’s extremely vivid imagination didn’t faze me at all. Regular readers of P G Wodehouse will be familiar with the formidable aunts of Bertie Wooster, whom he is mortally scared of. Today’s quote is by one of these admirable ladies, Aunt Dahlia, who incidentally is not the scariest of the lot .

I never cease to marvel at Mr Wodehouse’s command over the language and the imagery he conjures up with mere words.

It-isnt-often-that-Aunt

 

 

14 comments on “3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

  1. shail
    August 27, 2016

    A Wodehouse fan! Glad to come across you. My fav is Psmith and of course all the rest of them. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      August 31, 2016

      Hi Shail ! Thrilled to see you here. Its always a pleasure to meet a Wodehouse fan. I too love Psmith and his penchant for getting into the most ridiculous situations, but I must confess that my heart belongs to Lord Emsworth πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anil Kumar Das
    March 26, 2016

    Hi Anju,
    I enjoy reading Wodehouse and he is my favourite author. Some of the scenarios conjured by the master make me laugh when I think of them. My favourite incident is when ” the teetotaler with a face of fish , Gussie fink nottle , is served with lemon juice laced with gin and in an inebriated condition he proceeds to give a lecture. He lambasts the headmaster to the roaring approval of Market snodsbury grammar school kids. He spots Bertie and gives a bit of his mind to him too. It is one of the best comic interludes I have read.
    This eccentric character Gussie is a lover of newts and is an expert and if given a patient hearing will describe all about newts vividly.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Varnam Gump
    March 22, 2016

    Wodehouse is up there for me too when I want to have a nice laugh. Bertie is delightful in the many ways of not doing anything. Have you read Aldous Huxley’s Antic Hay. You would definitely love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 23, 2016

      I have been traumatised in school by an Aldous Huxley essay which was taught on a hot summer afternoon when all I wanted to do was sleep ! So I’m slightly wary of the esteemed Mr Huxley. Since you recommend it I think I should give it a try πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  4. dreamzandclouds
    March 22, 2016

    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2016 by in 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge, Books, Humour, P G Wodehouse, Quotes, women and tagged , , , .
