The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Silence

Silence,

white as snow,

smothering, featureless

tasting of things forbidden

a heavy sweetness

masking the hidden bitterness

clinging cloying

filling the mouth with

the tartness of

something that could have been.

 

A wail cut off mid-way

a shriek of agony

suppressed for too long

the absence of sound

overwhelming and paralyzing

with the smoothness of silk

and the coarseness

of gunny bags

leaving an imprint

on mind and body.

18 comments on “Silence

  1. sugarypie99
    August 20, 2016

    Beautiful poem with a great meaning
    Good job ma’am

    Like

  2. cleopatralovesbooks
    March 29, 2016

    Excellent writing – such a beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sreesha Diva
    March 22, 2016

    Beautiful, and also, in essence, there is some pain in this poem, I think. The pain of being repressed (correct me if I’m wrong)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 23, 2016

      Sreesha, thank you so much. I was reading a book on women in Afghanistan which was really disturbing. I had to write something and penning this poem helped me calm my mind

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sreesha Diva
        March 23, 2016

        Writing is the best way to calm ourselves. I once read a disturbing book on the condition of women in Afghanistan and I was depressed for weeks afterward!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Glass Bangle
        March 23, 2016

        I was reading about Rudaalis in India and thought they were going through hell. Then I read about Afghanistan and reworked my definition of hell.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sreesha Diva
        March 23, 2016

        Give me the names of these books? I’m especially interested in the book about Rudaalis; I’ve never read much about the subject.

        Like

      • The Glass Bangle
        March 23, 2016

        Sreesha, I was actually reading Nidhi Dugar Kundalia’s book, The Lost Generation. It’s about the vanishing professions in India. One section is about Rudaalis. I’ll be putting up my review soon. It’s a fascinating read.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Glass Bangle
        March 23, 2016

        The one on Afghanistan is called The Underground Girls of Kabul by Jenny Nordberg. It deals with the lives of girls who are raised as boys. The custom is called Bacha posh.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sreesha Diva
        March 23, 2016

        Thank you, adding to my TBR

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Love, Life and Whatever
    March 22, 2016

    Beautiful symbolism.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Genuinelyellie
    March 22, 2016

    I love this, it is so powerful and the words sound so rich and meaningful. I just posted about silence too, my blog is t0bec0nsidered.wordpress.com/ if you would like to take a look! I cant wait to read more of your poetry 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Life360degrees
    March 22, 2016

    Lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2016 by in life, Mind, Poetry, Silence, Thoughts, women, Words and tagged , , , .
