The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Ammumma’s Kitchen

Celebrity chefs like Gordon Ramsey and Nigella Lawson and the popular Masterchef series on television, have been successful in turning the humble kitchen into a glamorous setting. There are so many exotic ingredients being used and such a bewildering array of technical terms being bandied around that a dictionary is turning out to be an essential item to navigate our way in the culinary world. Shiny bell peppers, jaunty jalapenos and cheeky cheeses vie for prime position in today’s kitchens. Glossy cookbooks with cuisines from all over the world smile down loftily from kitchen shelves. There are quite a number of gadgets too, which supposedly do everything other than chew your food for you.

In the midst of all this space age machinery, which definitely has made life easier for women, my mind takes a nostalgic trip to my ammumma’s(grandmother) kitchen which easily remains my favourite. It was a cool airy room with just one wooden cupboard and a couple of shelves. The sunlight slanting in through the glass window above the stove gave a magical hue to the smoke rising from the dishes. I loved poking my head inside the cupboard to inhale the unique fragrance of spices and ammumma’s love. The air was redolent with the intoxicating smell of freshly pounded masalas and whatever delectable concoction she would be cooking that day. The most simple of dishes, like the ‘kayu mezhukkupuratti’ (diced raw banana sautéed in oil with a pinch of turmeric and chilly powder added to it) was elevated to a sublime level of deliciousness when she made it. With one edge of her mundu tucked into her waist ammumma bustled around, haggling with the vegetable seller, belting out instructions to the maid and enquiring about my grandfather’s requirements, along with getting a meal ready.

Festival times would see a bevy of aunts joining her in the kitchen to prepare the Sadya (a traditional feast with a number of dishes, served on plantain leaves), and somehow there was space for everybody. With a ladle in her hand, Ammumma directed operations with seemingly effortless ease. She allocated the work and my aunts would take up their stations to get the noon meal ready. My mom still fondly recalls that the payasam (a kind of sweet porridge-like dessert) was her forte. Preparing this involved standing near the uruli (huge vat) and stirring the concoction for a long time. Usually it’s one of the more boring jobs ever, but in ammumma’s kitchen it was the perfect opportunity to catch up on all the news. As I grew older, I preferred to be in that room with them rather than playing with my cousins. It was so comforting to stay tucked in beside an aunt and listen to the ebb and flow of conversations all around. I could see the invisible ribbons of love weaving through the words swirling around, binding everybody together. I think the women in the family looked forward to this time together, when they could shrug aside the roles of wife and mother for a few hours and become just daughters again. Another attraction of the bustling kitchen was getting my hands on the tiny white slivers of fresh coconut and fried golden brown cashewnuts. Ammumma kept a vigilant eye on the latter, and if she found me reaching out too often, it was deftly removed and placed out of reach.

Ammumma had a strict distinction between the kitchen and the storeroom. Other than masala powders, spices and oil, provisions were not kept in the kitchen. Those were the days of getting everything freshly ground in the mill. There were large canisters of rice flour, wheat flour, rice, sugar and other myriad stuff in the store. Snacks, which were invariably made at home, were kept carefully in a quaint little cupboard with glass doors, called the ‘meatsafe’. I went through my childhood calling it a ‘me-safe’, purely because I didn’t know better. It was only years later, when I read about it in books, did I realize that it had a more dignified name! The storeroom was my hideout in the afternoons since I was always shooed away in the mornings. During ammumma’s nap time I would slowly creep inside that cool room. What fascinated me were all the miscellaneous things in the interiors of the cupboards. I had to be very careful while conducting this operation because some of the provisions like pulses and such were kept in small tin containers, which at one time held Nutramul or some such thing. Those infernal things were quite clamorous if I didn’t handle them carefully.

Bits and pieces of coir, broken shells, discarded tins, old brass vessels and crumbling documents which only looked important, were just a few of the odds and ends I found. But my prime target was my uncle’s stamp collection. He had collected hundreds of stamps from all over the world, which he painstakingly stuck on thick black paper in albums, and my favourites were the triangle-shaped ones. Those stamps introduced me to countries like Espania, Latvia and Lithuania. I have such beautiful memories of sitting in that cool shady room and poring over the tiny colourful pieces of paper which took me all around the world.

Today’s kitchen is undoubtedly designed to ease the work of women and I’m so grateful for all the gadgets. But I sometimes feel that my children are missing out on the fun that I’ve had in my ammumma’s kitchen. Maybe as a person who had to do the cooking I wouldn’t have been comfortable in that kitchen without too many conveniences. However as a child and then as a teen, that was the most magical place for me, where I found comfort and an abundance of love.

21 comments on “Ammumma’s Kitchen

  1. Mridhula
    September 29, 2016

    Your words transported me to my ammumma’s storeroom….a typical fragrance that filled the air there (storeroom key was always safe in her custody and to get into the room as a child, you gotta tag along with her or mom, aunts or maid!)…. the wooden shelf in the kitchen…. the hearth, the chimney, the soot……. it all seems so remote now though (sigh)! Enjoyed reading your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      October 14, 2016

      Thank you Mridhula ! We are lucky to have such wonderful memories to take refuge in when the heart grows weary. 🙂

      Like

  2. Parvathy adwaith
    August 12, 2016

    Hi! This was the first post I read in ur blog. So beautifully written! It brought back a lot of memories for me too! My favorite part in my grandmother’s kitchen was the wood fired ‘aduppu’.As a kid, I used to spend a lot of time next to it blowing into the fire with the pipe :). It’s still an integral part of her kitchen.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. iamabloggertoo
    July 10, 2016

    That was an enjoyable read of the wonderful kitcheny memories that you shared with your grandma 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. dreamzandclouds
    June 1, 2016

    Your post brought back some good ol’ memories….Thanks Anjana!
    Even I remember the kitchens of my maternal grandmother as well as my Dad’s ancestral home. In both the places, food formed a special part of the daily routine with a myriad of conversations running so late that the plates & our fingers often dried & made us finally get up 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Me Otherwise
    June 1, 2016

    I distinctly remember as a kid, we had this huge bungalow in Bangalore. The kitchen was demarcated into the cooking area, a spot where the women sat on the floor to chop and knead and generally gossip , And a dark store room.. To me the store was the scariest place. Could never understand the many things stacked and stored in aluminum tins. Your post has stirred some wonderful memories from within me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 1, 2016

      Happy to see you here 🙂
      I can understand how scary a dark room would be for a child. Thankfully my grandmother’s store had enough light, otherwise I’m sure I too would have thought twice before venturing in.

      Like

  6. This reminded me of my grandma’s kitchen. She seldom allowed anyone to enter and, I still wonder how could she manage to cook at least 4/5 different dishes when we used to visit her during the vacations. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Varnam Gump
    June 1, 2016

    Ribbons of love – yes that is what made the food delicious. I have amazing memories similar to yours in my nanamma (father’s mother) kitchen in the village. Their cooking took the concept of “Less is More” to a totally new level. Thanks Anjana for the wonderful trip back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 1, 2016

      Varnam, I too loved going back to that kitchen again 🙂
      We are so lucky that we could have such wonderful experiences as children.

      Like

  8. Sid Balachandran
    June 1, 2016

    But then again, (to continue), I think there is a difference back then. I’m trying not to step on anyone’s toes here, but in my experience (or atleast in my family and the families that I’ve seen in Kerala) – women seem to think that their job is in the kitchen. Whereas, it isn’t so anymore; well, there are still imbeciles who think that way, but you get what I mean. Nowadays, it’s meant to be cook what you want and get out. I mean, people hardly grind their own masalas anymore.
    Ok, I think I might be throwing cold water on your lovely little post. So I’ll stop. I loved your post by the way 🙂

    Like

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 1, 2016

      Hey ! I love the banter following posts. So keep ’em coming. It’s true about the assumption that women would take care of the kitchen. And that’s one more thing I admire about my ammumma. She made sure that all her daughters got a great education. She never allowed any of them to cook at home. So my mom and aunts had a wonderful childhood sans any expectations of being bound to the kitchen.
      And I’m really happy that u liked the post 🙂

      Like

  9. Sid Balachandran
    June 1, 2016

    Ah! the beauty of cooking from a generation by gone. I won’t deny – I am in awe of a shiny spotless gadget-friendly kitchen. But yes, the kitchens of my grandmothers have that level of comfort that modern kitchens don’t offer.
    Well, these days, people are adopting those styles into restaurants and hotels; it’s amazing to see new posh restaurants use those old utensils to cook.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      June 1, 2016

      Same here Sid. I wonder whether I would be as efficient as my grandmother if i didn’t have any gadgets to ease my life. But the scents and memories attached to that kitchen is so unique for me.
      The old utensils are making a strong comeback. Many of my friends are ditching non-stick and getting back to the iron pans and ‘cheena-chatti’ of bygone days 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

