The Glass Bangle

Being a Woman

Bread and Blyton

I grew up on descriptions of food by Enid Blyton. She mesmerized me with visions of scrumptious scones, huge chocolate cakes, sweet sticky lemonade, farm fresh golden butter and of course the crusty soft slices of beautiful white bread. Even a cold glass of frothy milk was elevated to the status of something heavenly in the pages of her books. I have mournfully worked my way through idly and dosa while reading about delicious marmalade, hard-boiled eggs and toast. Now I wonder whether I was crazy to ignore the delicious fluffy idlis and fragrant sambar and dream about toast. Just goes to show that my current level of madness was honed over many years πŸ™‚

Anyway coming back to the saga of food, another favourite during my childhood was the sandwich. I had given it an aura of greatness partly because we rarely had it at home and partly because of the descriptions given by Enid Blyton (She does have a lot to answer for !) When I read of slices of pink ham placed between thick crusty slices of fresh bread, I was ready to run away from home and stow away on a steamer to London. All these delectable items were available in the country side of England and that was my target. An innate sense of laziness combined with a slight fear of the dark curbed my tendencies to explore the world. And also I was having a lot of fun with friends. The level of deception required to get away from home was totally beyond me. Those were the days when my mother would take one look at me and find out that I had not done my homework, in spite of my attempts at Oscar-award level histrionics. So the question of secretly running away was slightly far-fetched even for my imagination.

Another contributing factor to my love of sandwiches was the lunch brought to school by a classmate when I was in Class 2. She was a very dainty child who brought sandwiches for lunch. Even though I loved food, the top priority during lunch time was to gobble food in record speed and proceed to the playground for playing. As we were cramming food into our mouths, she would carefully open her lunch box and delicately take out a sandwich, which was then artfully consumed. Her sandwiches were always cut into squares and I remember that she had beautiful fingers, with which she elegantly transported the bread to her mouth.

Growing up involved a journey of realization of the actual taste of certain kinds of food. It was with a pang that Β I faced up to the fact that hard-boiled eggs have only so much to them. A glass of milk is that and nothing more. Ham sandwiches were really not my cup of tea and don’t even get me started on scones. It was just differently shaped bread ! I apologise to the purists who will be β€˜scornfully’ perusing my litany on scones.

However, my love for bread continues with the same intensity, though my favourite still remains the crusty loaves made by local bakeries. I love the rustic feel of the thick slabs of soft bread with a lovely aroma to it. Bread, butter and jam remains my favourite combination. With these kind of tastes, it’s particularly difficult for me when I go to eateries like Subway who insist on tormenting me with choices. I just want a normal sandwich, but nobody is willing to listen. I have to make so many decisions! And after the entire rigmarole of selecting umpteen things for a sandwich, I end up with something which I don’t particularly like !

So now I don’t venture into the realm of niche eateries, preferring to have my own decadent bread-butter-jam at home. Slathering the golden butter on to a soft slice of bread and sealing it with another slice with the barest minimum layer of jam, is my personal route to nirvana. No other flavour of jam is allowed to enter a sandwich than mixed-fruit. I love apple-cinnamon and various other stuff, but there’s nothing like mixed-fruit to enhance the flavor of the sandwich.

Nowadays it’s considered almost blasphemous to consumeΒ white bread, and there are a huge variety of artisan breads baked by extremely talented bakers. I too indulge in the different varieties, but my taste buds have been conquered by the mundane flavour of white bread.

I still indulge in a bit of Enid Blyton to catch up on childhood memories. The food descriptions do not affect me as much as it did earlier, but I do feel a bit hungry when there are midnight feasts at Mallory Towers and St Clairs, and the Famous Five tuck into picnic lunches packed lovingly by Aunt Fanny.

12 comments on “Bread and Blyton

  1. Varnam Gump
    February 22, 2017

    I had the same fascination with Enid Blyton’s books. How I envied the midnight feasts!!! Then her entire farm series – cherry tree and willow tree farm about the butter, the picnics etc. My son inherited the same trait from me. One day he had to have baked beans on toast after reading about it. It is another thing that he did not like it at all. You now made me hungry.

    Btw, yesterday Feb 21 was Erma’s birthday. It reminded me of you. And I did wonder what happened to the Erma tucked away in glass bangle. Please some more posts a la Erma style from the by lanes of small towns of India.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      March 9, 2017

      Varnam, I’m so sorry for the delayed response. I’m so very thrilled that you think of me when you hear about Erma. That’s the best compliment I could ever hope to get and thank you my dearest friend for making me so happy ! I too am searching for the Erma in me. Somedays she goes into hiding. Have to get her back πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Varnam Gump
        March 9, 2017

        Please do. In the meanwhile, I am catching up on your recommendations on the books in the India series. Reading the Frater’s account of chasing the monsoon. Finished with the old bloke’s travelogue. Thanks for enriching my life with these amazing books.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Glass Bangle
        March 22, 2017

        That’s wonderful ! I’m super thrilled that you’re enjoying those recommendations πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. dreamzandclouds
    February 16, 2017

    your post brought back some fond memories πŸ™‚ ❀

    "Bread, butter and jam remains my favourite combination" – its my favourite combo too ❀ These days I need to be conscious about the amount of butter I am having but if its bread (white one is my fav too) there has to be butter and yes 'mixed fruit' is my favourite too, inspite of the exotic flavours available in the stores these days. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    "…midnight feasts at Mallory Towers and St Clairs, and the Famous Five tuck into picnic lunches packed lovingly by Aunt Fanny"…….you took me back in time ; I think I need to re-read malory Towers, soon! πŸ™‚

    I guess food of our childhood taste better and yummier because they add that extra zing of the good ol' days πŸ™‚

    Cheers to bread-butter-jam! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      February 16, 2017

      We just keep finding more and more common likes and dislikes, don’t we ! As you so correctly said, food which have happy memories associated with them somehow become our favourites 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Me Otherwise
    February 16, 2017

    As a young kid, way back in eighties and nineties.. bread was bought at home only when someone was unwell. I still remember a girl in my class who would get bread and butter smeared with red jam.. and that was a delicacy indeed. For some odd reason I thought people who ate bread and butter and kids who brought them to school were supposedly ” rich ” kids. . At that time the popular options in Bangalore were Nilgiris bread or you buy them from Iyengar bakery. I loved standing outside the bakery as the lovely smell would waft outside. Blissful moments of child hood indeed.
    See how your post could invoke Memoires????!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      February 16, 2017

      This is one of those moments when I revel in saying ‘ Those were the days !’. Coming from a similar background, I totally get what you’re saying. In Kerala, we had some amazing bakeries which came out with the most simple yet delectable stuff. And bread was one of those. I’m so happy this post lead you down memory lane 😊

      Like

  4. Sid Balachandran
    February 16, 2017

    You had me at Enid Blyton. And then with bread butter jam.
    And if it’s not too forward, I love you! [in a totally non-creepy way, that is πŸ™‚ ]

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Glass Bangle
      February 16, 2017

      So when we meet let’s ditch the coffee and gorge on bread butter jam πŸ˜€
      I too love you in a same-same way 😊😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2017 by in Aromas, Bread, Enid Blyton, Food, Memories, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
